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Have You Completed Ethics Training? 
FINAL SCHEDULED TRAINING for legislative staff and employees is  

Friday, February 14, from 8:30 AM to Noon 
 

Need the training link? Email or call the Ethics Office at 907-269-0150.  
 
More information: 
AS 24.60.155 requires that all legislative employees who will serve over a 30-
day time period complete a legislative ethics course administered by the Select 
Committee on Legislative Ethics at the start of a new legislative session or 
within 30 days of beginning service. Ethics training is required at the beginning 
of each legislative session regardless of whether you completed training in a 
previous year. Ethics training consists of three segments: Harassment Preven-
tion, Ethics and Civility, and an overview of the Ethics Act. 
 
Questions? Email or call the Ethics Office at 907-269-0150.  
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Remember the Key Gift Rules 

In memoriam:  

Ethics Committee Public Member Gerald McBeath 

Gerald “Jerry” McBeath passed away peacefully on Nov. 18, 
2024, in his family home in Fairbanks, Alaska. Jerry began 
serving the committee as an alternate public member in 
2020, and he became a regular public member in 2023.  
 
Jerry was a Professor of Political Science, Emeritus, at UAF. 
Among other accomplishments during his tenure at UAF, he 

was a driving force in the establishment of a political science program and he 
co-authored a textbook on Alaska government and politics. After retiring, he 
devoted much of his time to public service. To the Ethics Committee, he 
brought a unique academic perspective as well as a rich understanding of 
government.  

Annual Disclosures Due February 19 
See page 2 for more information 

Campaign Fundraising  
Prohibition in Session 
 

Remember to check for and 
remove donation language 
and payment buttons from 
campaign websites during 
session. Contact the Ethics 
Office at 907-269-0150 or  
Ethics.Committee@akleg.gov 
for more information. 

mailto:jacqui.yeagle@akleg.gov
mailto:jacqui.yeagle@akleg.gov
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File Annual Ethics Disclosures by February 19 
All legislators, legislative employees, and public members of the Ethics Committee are required to file annual dis-
closures within 30 days after the first day of session (February 19 in 2025) for participation in or association with 
certain individuals or entities. Below is a list of disclosures that require annual filing, along with information that 
may help you determine whether you need to file a disclosure.  

 

Are you an elected or appointed officer or board member of an organization?  
If you are a board member of an organization and you exercise advisory, investigatory, managerial, or supervisory 
power—even if you do not have voting power—you must submit an annual disclosure for ongoing associations. Types 
of organizations generally requiring disclosure include: 
Non-profit organizations 
For profit organizations 
Religious organizations 
Educational organizations 
Condo Associations 
Native Corporations 
Governmental or National Boards. 
 
See AS 24.60.030(f) and Advisory Opinion AO 13-02 for more information.  
 

Do you have a financial relationship with a legislator, a legislative employee (if one supervises the  
other), a public official who must file a Financial Disclosure with APOC, or a registered lobbyist?  
If yes, you must file a close economic association disclosure if the financial relationship totals $250 or more. Ongoing 
financial relationships must be disclosed annually. Examples include sharing housing in Juneau, participating in a  
business partnership, or working for pay on a legislator’s campaign. The dollar amount of the financial relationship does 
NOT need to be disclosed; only the fact that a close economic association exists. See AS 24.60.070 for more information. 
 

Are you a spouse or domestic partner of a registered lobbyist? 
If yes, you must file a close economic association with a lobbyist disclosure. AS 24.60.070 (c) states:  

When making a disclosure under AS 24.60.070(a) concerning a relationship with a lobbyist to whom a  
legislative employee is married or who is the legislative employee's domestic partner, the legislative employee 
shall also disclose the name and address of each employer of the lobbyist and the total monetary value received by 
the lobbyist from the lobbyist's employer. The legislative employee shall report changes in the employer of the 
spouse or domestic partner within 48 hours after the change. In this subsection, “employer of the lobbyist” means 
the person from whom the lobbyist received amounts or things of value for engaging in lobbying on behalf of the 
person.  

 

Do you participate in one or more state benefit or loan programs administered by the State of Alaska?  
Certain state benefit and loan programs require disclosure; a list of those programs are listed in Appendix C of the 
Standards of Conduct Handbook. You can access the handbook online. File a State Benefit and Loan Programs  
disclosure. See AS 24.60.050 for more information. 
 

Do you receive direct or indirect financial benefit from a state contract, lease, or grant with an annual 
value of $5,000 or more? 
If you or a spouse or partner have an interest in a state contract, lease, or grant with an annual value of $5,000 or more, 
you must disclose that interest. File the State Contracts, Leases, and Grants disclosure. See AS 24.60.040 for more  
information.  
 

Are you on contract/agreement to represent a client before a state agency, board, or commission?  
If yes, you must file a Representation for Compensation disclosure in 2023, even if you filed a disclosure in 2022. See  
AS 24.60.100 for more information.  

Disclosure Notes 

https://www.akleg.gov/basis/statutes.asp#24.60.030
https://www.akleg.gov/search/ethics/
https://www.akleg.gov/basis/statutes.asp#24.60.070
https://www.akleg.gov/basis/statutes.asp#24.60.070
https://www.akleg.gov/basis/statutes.asp#24.60.070
http://ethics.akleg.gov/documents/ETHICS_HANDBOOK.pdf
https://www.akleg.gov/basis/statutes.asp#24.60.050
https://ethics.akleg.gov/disclosure_forms/form.php?form_id=h4
https://www.akleg.gov/basis/statutes.asp#24.60.040
https://www.akleg.gov/basis/statutes.asp#24.60.100
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File Ethics Disclosures Online. It’s Easy! 

1. Go to http://intranet.akleg.gov/ and scroll down to the “File an Ethics Disclosure” section. 

2.  Click on “Login.”  

3.  Enter your credentials (your computer log-in, not your email address). 

4.  Click on the type of disclosure you want to file. 

5.  Complete the form using drop down menus when available. (Provide complete information.  
Remember, gifts of travel are for the purpose of obtaining information about matters of legislative concern. Include a 
detailed agenda and a one or two sentence narrative that addresses how the information you obtained is a matter of  
legislative concern.) 

6.  Check your completed disclosure for accuracy and click “Proceed.” 

7. Review your disclosure and if correct, press “Submit.” 

 
Need More Help Filing Your Disclosure? 
Download a four-page detailed instruction handout at https://ethics.akleg.gov/disclosures.php or contact the Ethics Office at  
907-269-0150 or 907-269-8179 if you need more information. 

Disclosure Notes 

Contact the Select Committee on Legislative Ethics 

Mailing Address:      Physical Location:       Phone: 907-269-0150 
PO Box 90251      Anchorage Legislative Office Building   FAX: 907-269-0152 
Anchorage, AK 99509-0251   1500 W Benson Blvd Suite 220     Email: Ethics.Committee@akleg.gov 
         Anchorage, AK 99503       Website: http://ethics.akleg.gov/ 

 
The Ethics Act (AS 24.60) requires legislators, legislative employees, and public members of the Ethics Committee to disclose for 
the public certain activities and associations in which they engage.  

Do I Have to File an Ethics Disclosure? 
Only if you participate in any of the following activities or associations. 

• Appointment or reappointment to a board or commission - AS 24.60.030(f) 

• Participation in a state contract or lease - AS 24.60.040 

• Participation in a state benefit program or obtained a state loan - AS 24.60.050 

• Formation of a close economic association (financial relationship) with a legislator, legislative employee, lobbyist, or public 
official who is required to file a Financial Disclosure with the Alaska Public Offices Commission - AS 24.60.070  

• Representation of a client for pay before a state agency, board, or commission - AS 24.60.100 

• Receipt of a gift not connected to legislative status worth $250 or more in value - AS 24.60.080(c)(6) 

• Receipt of a gift of travel/hospitality for legislative matters worth $250 or more in value - AS 24.60.080(c)(4) 

• Receipt of a gift by a family member due to legislative connection worth $250 or more in value - AS 24.60.080(i) 

• Receipt of a gift for compassionate reasons - AS 24.60.075(c)  

• Receipt of a gift of legal services related to legislative matters - AS 24.60.080(c)(8)  

• Receipt of gift related to a sanctioned charity event - AS 24.60.080(d) and AS 24.60.080(c)(10) 

• Receipt by a family member of a gift related to a sanctioned charity event - AS 24.60.080(i)  
 

When Do I File an Ethics Disclosure? 
• Within 30 days of the beginning of the association or within 30 days of the date you became subject to the Ethics Act;  

• 90 days after final day of service under AS 24.60.115 if the matter or interest was not previously disclosed; 

• Some activities and associations require annual disclosures within 30 days after the first day of session (February 19, 
2025) for participation in or association with certain individuals or entities. See next page for more information. 

 

NOTE: You do not need to file a disclosure if you have nothing to report.  

http://intranet.akleg.gov/
https://ethics.akleg.gov/disclosures.php
mailto:Ethics.Committee@akleg.gov
http://ethics.akleg.gov/
https://www.akleg.gov/basis/statutes.asp#24.60
https://www.akleg.gov/basis/statutes.asp#24.60.030
https://www.akleg.gov/basis/statutes.asp#24.60.040
https://www.akleg.gov/basis/statutes.asp#24.60.050
https://www.akleg.gov/basis/statutes.asp#24.60.070
https://www.akleg.gov/basis/statutes.asp#24.60.100
https://www.akleg.gov/basis/statutes.asp#24.60.080
https://www.akleg.gov/basis/statutes.asp#24.60.080
https://www.akleg.gov/basis/statutes.asp#24.60.080
https://www.akleg.gov/basis/statutes.asp#24.60.075
https://www.akleg.gov/basis/statutes.asp#24.60.080
https://www.akleg.gov/basis/statutes.asp#24.60.080
https://www.akleg.gov/basis/statutes.asp#24.60.080
https://www.akleg.gov/basis/statutes.asp#24.60.080
https://www.akleg.gov/basis/statutes.asp#24.60.115
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Remember the Key Gift Rules! 

RULE #1:  

May not solicit, accept or receive gifts  
totaling $250 or more in a calendar year 
from the same person. 

Exceptions to Rule #1 

• Hospitality at a residence within the state or 

at a social event or meal (No disclosure is  

 required) 

• Discounts generally available to the public or 

benefits the state (No disclosure is required) 

• Culturally shared food (No disclosure is  

 required) 

• Travel and hospitality primarily for the  

 purpose of obtaining information on a matter 

 of legislative concern (Gift of travel disclosure 

 is required within 60 days) 

• Gifts from an immediate family member  

 under AS 24.60.080(c)(5) (No disclosure is  

 required) 

• Gifts not associated with the recipient's  

 legislative status (Confidential disclosure is 

 required within 30 days) 

• Welcome to Juneau gifts or discounts  

 during session (No disclosure is required) 

• Legal services for a legislative matter 

(Disclosure is required within 30 days) 

• Gift of transportation from a legislator or a  

 legislative employee to a legislator or  

 legislative employee (No disclosure required) 

• Charitable contribution or ticket to a  

 sanctioned charity event (Disclosure required 

 within 60 days) 

RULE #2:  

May not solicit, accept or receive a gift 
from a lobbyist. 

Exceptions to Rule #2 

• Food and non-alcoholic beverage for  

 immediate consumption with a value of $15 or 

 less OR if the food and beverage is provided as 

 part of an event open to all legislators or  

 legislative employees. (No disclosure required) 

• A contribution, ticket, or ticket-related gift to 

a sanctioned charitable event with an annual 

cumulative total value of less than $250 from 

an individual lobbyist. (No disclosure required) 

• A gift unconnected with legislative status 

from an immediate family member. (Lobbyist 

spouse, no disclosure required) 

• A gift delivered on the premises of a state  

 facility and accepted on behalf of a recognized 

 nonpolitical charitable organization. (No  

 disclosure required) 

• A compassionate gift (Preapproval is required 

and a disclosure is required within 30 days) 

DISCLAIMER 
Information provided is a general overview. Your  
circumstances may require specific information 

or advice. 
Contact Ethics Committee Administrator Kevin Reeve at 

907-269-0150 to make sure your intended action  
complies with the Ethics Act AS 24.60. 

Here’s a Tip! 

Keeping a gift log is a helpful way to track of gifts you receive throughout the year.  
Download a gift log at https://ethics.akleg.gov/disclosures.php. 

https://ethics.akleg.gov/disclosures.php

